top of page

July 2, 2023・13th Sunday in Ordinary Time (A)

2 Kings 4:8-11, 14-16A ・ Ps. 89.2+3, 18+19 ・ Romans 6:3-4, 8-11 ・ Matthew 10:37-42


This time of the year in our calendar, in this so-called ordinary time in our church calendar, I used to be so especially amazed, maybe in awe, and in tremble perhaps, especially with the kind of bible readings we have today. I may sound to many to be too self-centered after reading what we have today because I was cornered with a notion about the priestly vocation I have been somehow enjoying for almost two decades now. This time, I intend to share with you a brief story of my vocation to the priesthood. But before that, I wish you too to reflect also about your own, wholeheartedly claim that each one of us has own and unique story to tell (share). And at the end of our reflection may we have a realization that indeed God works in many mysterious ways for each one of us.


I grew with a peasant family in a far flung place south of Manila, in the province of Batangas. From childhood I only have my immediate family,; my parents, and my 5 brothers and sisters. I may have enjoyed life with the neighborhood too, peasants as we were. While there were plenty of good and not-so-good memories back home, who anyway has a perfect family upbringing, I can say..


Every time I encounter bible verses similar to what we have today, during my private prayer time & reflection, I tend to always claim with confidence that my immediate family was never a hindrance in responding to priestly life/vocation, convincing myself rather that members of my immediate family have been my partners and supporters. Indeed, they have been more than just witnesses to my psycho-spiritual growth as a priest.


I had expressed my interest in becoming a priest at a very young age. A member of the family approached me with seemingly discouraging words of impossibility saying that I have to spend “sacks of coins ” (plenty of money) for seminary academic schooling, and must be smarter to finish the academe. I was too young and too innocent to seriously think about them, I ignored anyway.


Immediately after high school graduation, I took seminary entrance examination. A member of the family approached me with seemingly discriminatory words asking me why I took the entrance examination knowing from the very start that I`ll not pass. I know I really did not pass that written examination, but I just found myself already in the formation house a month later.


On my 11th to 12th year of seminary formation, a relative of mine approached me asking me what strange thing came into my mind so I needed to spend my life to a foolish thing I`ll surely gain nothing. I then turned back without saying anything.


Many things had happened, many more things will happen. Many experiences have been shared, more experiences are meant to be shared. In “faith-ing,” consolations and desolations are countless. What remains so important is the relationship with the unseen God expressed through fellowship with the community of faith, our family.


Our calling, & our short prayer:


Let us all be partners and supporters and promoters of evangelization. Let us go beyond cultures and skin colors in proclaiming the Word of God. We can all be called one big family as long as we have Jesus as our center. And we pray: in times we experience a seemingly baseless progress and discouragements from others who have different views and values in life, protect us Lord from our enemies and remind us that we have our brothers and sisters in Your vineyard, use them as Your wonderful instruments in creating one family that supports each other in having deeper relationship with You. Amen.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page